Please disable your Ad Blocker to better interact with this website.

Republicans Retake Control of Senate

CBN News – With late-night wins in Iowa and North Carolina, Republicans picked up at least seven new seats to reclaim control of the U.S. Senate.

Republican Joni Ernst won the Iowa Senate race and Thom Tillis was declared the winner in a tight race in North Carolina against incumbent Democrat Kay Hagan.

Republicans also won Montana, Colorado, Arkansas, West Virginia and South Dakota, while holding on to a few tightly contested seats.

Watch the CBN News Political Team’s analysis of the 2014 Midterm Election outcome.

Sen. Pat Roberts of Kansas won reelection against independent challenger Greg Orman with 54 percent of the vote to Orman’s 45 percent, with four percent going to a Libertarian candidate.

Georgia’s Senate seat remains in Republican hands, as David Perdue defeated Democrat Michelle Nunn to win retiring Sen. Saxby Chambliss’s seat.

Republican Cory Gardner defeated incumbent Mark Udall in Colorado, a state that President Barack Obama won twice. Udall campaigned hard on women’s issues, but overall dissatisfaction with Obama gave Gardner the edge.

In Montana, Republican Steve Daines defeated Amanda Curtis to take a Senate seat that Republicans have not held in more than a century.

Meanwhile, Democrat Jeanne Shaheen has won reelection to the U.S. Senate for New Hampshire, holding on to her seat against Republican challenger Scott Brown. The New Hampshire Senate race had been considered “too close to call” in the last few days. Shaheen was elected to the Senate in 2008.

Arkansas Republican Tom Cotton defeated incumbent Mark Pryor, and Republican senatorial candidate Shelley Moore Capito won her race in West Virginia, defeating Democrat Natalie Tennant. Capito is the first woman ever to be elected to the U.S. Senate from West Virginia.

Republican Mike Rounds took the seat for South Dakota, replacing retiring Democrat Tim Johnson.

In Louisiana, the Senate race will not be decided tonight. Neither incumbent Democrat Mary Landrieu nor Republican challenger Bill Cassidy won a large enough percentage of the vote to avoid a runoff election on December 6.

In Virginia, Democrat incumbent Mark Warner leads Republican challenger Ed Gillespie by a slim 3,400 votes which will likely trigger a recount.  This is a contest that many thought Warner would easily win.

Kentucky Republican Sen. Mitch McConnell has won his reelection bid against challenger Alison Lundergan Grimes.

Report via CBN News


Posting Policy

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.

Trending Now on

Our Privacy Policy has been updated to support the latest regulations.Click to learn more.×

Send this to a friend